President Buhari orders Amaechi, Malami, Ngige and other Ministers with political ambition to resign

President Muhammadu Buhari has directed that all members of the Federal Executive Council seeking political office submit their resignation letters by Monday, May 16, 2022.

Because Vice President Yemi Osinbajo is an elected member of the cabinet, he is not included in the instruction.

The decision comes only hours after the Court of Appeal overturned a Federal High Court judgment in Umuahia that struck down a portion of the electoral code that prevented political appointees from running in elections.

Those affected are Ministers of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation Abubakar Malami, Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Niger Delta Development Commission, Godswill Akpabio; Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige; Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu; Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba, who have all joined the presidential race on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Others are the Minister of State Mines and Steel, Uche Ogar, who is running for the governorship position in Abia State, and the Minister of Women Affairs, Pauline Tallen, who declared her ambition to contest for the senatorial seat in Plateau State.

Related Video

One comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.